Grieves Drops 5th Studio Album Running Wild

Grieves Running Wild.jpg

Seattle-based rapper/producer Grieves has just released his fifth studio album.

Comprising 15 tracks, Running Wild follows his 2014 album Winter & The Wolves (#13 on Billboard's Rap/Hip-Hop Albums chart and #57 on the Billboard Top 200) and was recorded in Seattle and Stockholm with Swedish producer Chords (Jens Eric Resch Thomason). "I flew from Seattle to Stockholm on basically zero sleep," Grieves recounted. "Suddenly I'm there, my first day, and I'm immediately stepping into the studio. I'm jet lagged. I'm vulnerable. And that's where some of the best songs came from. If something felt weird to me, or uncomfortable, Chords would push me further in that direction. Any time I was like, 'Nope. I don't think I can get away with that,' he'd say, 'That sounds like a perfect reason to give it a try."

Featuring guest appearances from fellow Seattle-based artists Fearce Vill, Romaro Franceswa, Paris Alexa, and Davey Jones, Running Wild blends sweet classic soul sounds with modern and experimental elements, making it a funky sonic delight. "I really wanted this to be a real record," Grieves said. "I wanted it to work from front to back." 


  1. "Postcards"
  2. "Faded"
  3. "Boop Bop Da Willy Willy" ft. Paris Alexa
  4. "Chillin' (Ice Cold)" ft. Romaro Franceswa
  5. "What It Dew"
  6. "Gutz"
  7. "Roses" ft. Fearce Vill and Davey Jones
  8. "Levees"
  9. "No Sleep" ft. Paris Alexa
  10. "Bonnie and Clyde"
  11. "A-Okay"
  12. "Night Shift"
  13. "Cloudless Sky (Interlude)"
  14. "RX"
  15. "5000 Miles"

Grieves also shared his latest music video for the song "What It Dew" last week. Directed by HELICAL (Carlos Cruz + Thai M. Tran), the video finds Grieves trapped in purgatory and forced to entertain in a dive bar, where the patrons embody the seven deadly sins. Watch below.

Grieves will follow Running Wild's release with a 48-date national headlining tour starting on August 31 in Portland, OR. Full list of dates here. For all of his latest news and updates, follow him on social media:


Twitter: @Grievesmusic

Instagram: @grieves